Yoga yah!

I enjoy yoga immensely. The serene studio, gentle ‘oms’ and rigorous postures balance my energy. Yoga practitioners learn how to take full advantage of inhales and exhales to maintain a clear, peaceful mind.

You’re enrolled in an intense program. You’re going to need relaxation and rejuvination, so I highly recommend taking youself to a yoga class. Go solo (you’ll meet lots of fun people) or go with a group of friends (get them to relieve school stresses too). Many studios downtown offer discounted rates for students.

Bikram Yoga

Lotus Soul Gym Yoga

Shanti Yoga Studio

Bring your willingness to learn and let go of inhibitions… mat rentals are free.

6 Responses to “Yoga yah!”

  1. Melissa Di Natale Says:

    I appreciate yoga, but I cannot stand it. I find it incredibly boring, unfortunately. I know it would be good to relax my mind, especially during school.

    If anybody like me wants to get into yoga but cannot seem to get through a class, I suggest trying “Breathe.” This is a class offered at various gyms, such as World Health. It combines choreographed dance and yoga movements that go to specific songs ―kind of like yoga-lite.

    Who knows, maybe one day I’ll graduate to the real thing.

  2. Melissa thank you for your response and for suggesting ‘Breathe’ to readers.

  3. I love yoga too!
    I’ve been going to Bikram downtown a couple times a week. Sometimes it’s hard to find time to attend a 90-minute class, but the payoff is worth it.
    Also, if you bring your student ID when you register, you get a decent discount.

    Tiana

  4. Great suggestion Alexa!

    I also think yoga is a great option for stressed-out students.

    My favorite yoga studio is Moksha Yoga – http://www.mokshayogaedmonton.com. They offer 60 minute classes for people with busy schedules, and 75 and 90 minute classes for people seeking a challenge.

    Adrienne

  5. My favourite is Mokesha yoga!
    It offers student discounts as well and there are new studios opening soon.
    Check it out at: http://www.mokshayogaedmonton.com

  6. michelle1610 Says:

    Yoga really is a great way to free your mind. The MacEwan Sport & Wellness Centre also offers yoga programs. One form of yoga offered is Ashtanga Yoga and it is dubbed a Power Yoga that focuses on meditation. You can see their class times and other yoga schedules here: http://www.macewancentre.ca/index.php?page=122

Leave a comment